

## Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation Chief and Council Statement on Treaty 8 and Alberta's Future

Fort Chipewyan, AB, May 2, 2025 - The Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation (ACFN) Chief and Council affirms that Alberta's current public discourse about separating from Canada fundamentally conflicts with our inherent and constitutionally protected Treaty 8 rights. Treaty 8 is a solemn, nation-to-nation agreement between ACFN and the Crown (Canada) - not with any province - and it predates the creation of Alberta. In 1899 our ancestors entered into Treaty 8, solemnly acknowledging our inherent connection to the land and the Crown's obligation to uphold our rights. Treaty 8 guarantees ACFN's rights to continue our traditional way of life - including hunting, trapping, fishing and other cultural practices across our territory. These rights are protected by the Canadian Constitution (Section 35) and represent binding commitments the Crown made to our Nation.

ACFN reminds all Albertans that our Treaty 8 obligations are with Canada's federal government. Alberta has no authority to alter or negate these solemn agreements. No provincial legislation or referendum can extinguish or rewrite our Treaty rights.

Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation therefore insists that any political discussion of Alberta's potential separation must fully respect Indigenous sovereignty and Treaty 8 obligations. These treaties are international in nature and our duty is to uphold them for future generations. Any move toward altering Alberta's status without our Nation's consultation and consent would violate our inherent rights.

Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation will continue to uphold our Treaty 8 rights and engage constructively with all levels of government on matters affecting our Nation. Our commitment to our people and to our Treaty promises is steadfast. We reiterate that Treaty 8 is enduring and unassailable; any political debate about Alberta must begin with respect for our rights, the Crown's obligations, and our nation-to-nation relationship.

Chief Allan Adam Councillor Flossie Cyprean Councillor Hazel Mercredi Councillor Mike Mercredi Councillor Teri Villebrun